Madrid’s Puerta de Hierro University Hospital will host the 1st European Collaborative Symposium: Update in Gynecology and Minimally Invasive Surgery 2019 next year from March 7th to 9th.

In this Symposium, we will have the collaboration of the Departments of Gynecology at the Mayo Clinic in Phoenix (Arizona, USA) and Rochester (Minessota, USA), which for the first time will come together in a Symposium in Europe.

This Symposium has been named as Professor Augusto Pereira Martinez de Abaria Memorial in recognition of his tireless dedication to the world of gynecology. During the Symposium, we will take the opportunity to honour our friend and teacher Professor Javier Magriña, responsible for the training of dozens of Spanish gynecologists, co-director of the Symposium and essential member in the organization of it.

We will enjoy a very attractive scientific program, with leading national and international speakers, experts in different fields of gynecology and topics of total relevance. The proposed scientific program has been divided in to eight sessions focused mostly on the updating of knowledge in Minimally Invasive Surgery, in areas such as the most common gynecological surgery, pelvic floor or gynecological oncology, with the aim that at the end of the presentations, there is a long period of time for questions and debate with the speakers, which makes the design of the Symposium very new, on the one hand, and on the other, didactic and scientific.

Before saying goodbye, we would like to inform you that the 1st European Collaborative Symposium is a great opportunity to meet, for a few days, in the city of Madrid, and share and exchange opinions, not only about our knowledge and concerns in the field of minimally invasive surgery , but also to present our future project for the Gynecology Service of the Puerta de Hierro University Hospital in Madrid.

All members of the Gynecology and Obstetrics Service of our Hospital are excited to welcome you and offer you our hospitality.

Course Directors:

  • Dr. Tirso Pérez-Medina
  • Dr. Javier F.Magriña
  • Dr. Augusto Pereira

More information: